Gluten Intolerance: 13 Foods You Never Suspected Being Guilty

0
2392

Affiliate Disclosure

Gluten Intolerance: 13 Foods You Never Suspected Being Guilty

One out of 133 Americans are cited to have been diagnosed with Gluten Intolerance; which may range from mild allergic reaction to a full blown celiac disease. Even though you may not be severely allergic to gluten and have a only mild reaction when exposed to gluten, either through consumption or contact, but it doesn’t make your scouring of aisle any less vigilant during grocery shopping.

[ohd_ad_one]

Here is a low down on 13 most common culprits you never suspected have gluten.

  • Items labelled “Wheat Free”. The pure assumption that gluten only comes from wheat may slip us right into the fallacy that the product is gluten free. In actual, gluten also comes from other grains like barley, rye and spelt. You might have to have a closer look at the product labeling to ascertain the presence of gluten contents.
  • Hot Dogs. You may be rightly cautious to skip the bun, due to obvious wheat content in the bread, but did you know even certain brands of hot dog may be known to have gluten in them? Do check the fine print to ensure you have the right brand that is gluten free.
  • Soy Sauce. Perhaps it is the last thing you suspect out of this salty tasting condiment but many known brands of Soy sauce have wheat present in the mix, making it a little off the menu for people known to have celiac disease and gluten insensitivity. Be sure to check the label before making a purchase.
  • Frozen Veggies in sauce.  As easy as it may appear to pop up that bag of frozen veggies and whip up that gorgeous side dish, you might want to check the ingredients on the pack as some of the sauces may contain soy sauce or have gluten product in the mix. Be sure to look out for unadulterated variety of frozen veggies.
  • Hot Chocolate. If you are in the mood to prepare a hot cup of cocoa with a toss of marshmallows, you might easily be eyeing the wrong culprit as it isn’t the marshmallows you should be critical of, its the hand prepackaged cocoa mixes that might have had exposure to possible gluten cross-contamination while being processed on machines prior exposed with wheat products.
  • Blue Cheese. This might throw you off-guard as it questions your past knowledge about all cheese being gluten-free. While you are still right in your place, blue cheese treads a bit over the fine line as potential cross contamination of gluten holds possible. However, minute as it may be, below 20 parts per million is what FDA considers as cut-off for its gluten free labeling, bread mold may be used to make the said cheese. Hence, if you really love your cheese you might want to stick to hard cheese instead.
  • French Fries. Eating out always runs the risk of being served cross contaminated food. While you order seemingly harmless fries that is gluten free ( cooked in potato oil and sprinkled with salt) it may very well be fried in the oil previously used for breaded onion rings. You may want to ask before ordering.
  • Gravy. If you are planning to use instant gravy packets, be sure to check the label as it probably contains wheat. Meanwhile, home cooked gravies frequently dwell on using flour, you have a choice to switch to cornflour as a thickener. If you are eating out while away from home, you might want to avoid the gravy if you have gluten intolerance for a less riskier time.
  • Pickles. Before picking up that jar of pickle from the aisle be sure to check the label whether it has malt vinegar or corn based vinegar. As the former may contain gluten; making it off limits if you are gluten intolerant.
  • Bouillon cubes. Bouillon cube or most commonly referred to as the stock cube may add gluten as a filler. Maltodextrin is a gluten product which you may want to avoid. Best bet would be to prepare your own stock over the weekend and freeze it for use down the week.
  • Vitamin Supplements. Some vitamin supplements may contain gluten purely as a binding agent, making it a big no-no for gluten intolerant folks.
  • Beauty products. Even though cosmetics are not consumed but sheer contact can create havoc if you are exposed to contamination. Imagine a lip balm that contains gluten in small proportion getting digested each time you lick or bite your lip. Certain beauty products contain hydrolyzed gluten in preparation of emulsifiers and stabilizers.
  • Medications. Although an actual chance of coming across gluten in your medication is small but not non-existent. As precautionary measure be mindful of the prescription and OTC medications as you might come across one with gluten as an ingredient. Traces of gluten are more likely to be found in generics.

Affiliate Disclosure

LEAVE A REPLY